Mattawa River Resort Reviews

Ray Keating 5/5

9 months ago on Google

Beautiful place.. Stayed in Frazer Cabin for 3 days and had an amazing time. The river gets very warm and the fishing was great.  The Restaraunt has great Service and even better food. 100% will go back


Sylvie Mckee 5/5

9 months ago on Google-

Great place,great homemade food,clean clean clean. Owners and staff are awesome. The view is exceptional and I will defenatly be going back.Thank you for everything.

Sylvie Mckee


Clinton John James5/5

9 months ago on Google-

Loved when I heard that this resort was opening up. It was a popular place years ago. I am always pleased to hear of new businesses opening up. Best of luck to all involved.

The resort is located on Hwy 17 just west of Mattawa and east of Champlain Provincial park. It is well off the highway and is located right on a magnificent section of the Mattawa River. If you are vacationing, you can relax on or swim off of their dock. You can also make use of the canoes and kayaks available to cruise the river. There are a number of beautiful cottages available to rent.

The Cardinal restaurant is also quite nice. Old timbers and furniture are eye-pleasing. The service was excellent, and the bacon cheeseburger was  very very good. The view from the porch dining area was outstanding. Give it a chance if you’re in the Mattawa area. It is always important to support local merchants.


Isaac Jakowiec5/5

9 months ago on Google-

Excellent stay right along the river. Great access to local shops as the town is just minutes away. This cozy place has access to a small general store and restaurant access with a dock to tie off your boat for the stop. Cabins are closer together, which gives this place a more of a small community charm. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Great place for a nice stay or even a family getaway with multiple cabin rentals.


4 Realz5/5

8 months ago on Google-

Wow, this place is paradise. Rented a cottage for 1 week with the family and we found our new favorite vacation spot. The Cardinal restaurant has great food and views. Can’t wait until our next trip there. Truly amazing.


Impressed in Every Aspect!

This was exactly what I envisioned as winter wonderland. It is very quiet place, warm and cozy inside with breathtaking views outside.The cottages are nestled in pure wilderness. The resort is conveniently located close by Mattawa, where one could go shopping for all the necessities .The log cabins are equipped with everything to prepare your own meals, but I feel like we would indulge in the Cardinal restaurant next time. Also heat sources are 2 in the cabin, the wood burning stove adds so much coziness to the room, but if lazy to start a fire, heaters will do. We also enjoyed the sauna and hiking all day on the trails around. Owners are very friendly and passionate in everything they do.

Thank you Nicole and Adrian, also Tammy for your kindness, you made us feel at home in no time, we really appreciate the invitation to your family event ,delicious meals and warm atmosphere. We would love to come again, hit the slopes and skate on the river, bring the ski-doos and enjoy all those fun activities.

Happy Holidays


Conrad B wrote a review Aug. 2018

Beautiful location! Spectacular Views!

What an incredibly nostalgic lodge/cabins! We were looking for something close to the Ottawa River for boating and the Mattawa River Resort was perfect for us! We enjoyed our 2 nights so much we decided to stay another night. Nicole and Tammy offered us the best hospitality and were accommodating and flexible with our changes. This location is also so close to Samuel de Champlain for hiking or tubing down the rapids(next time!). The resort offers free canoe use and the Mattawa River is spectacular to canoe. Very little boat traffic and the views are wonderful. Truly a beautiful and peaceful place to enjoy! We look forward to returning again!

Date of stay: August 2018

Trip type: Travelled as a couple


smurfett2018 wrote a review Jul. 2018

South Porcupine, Canada3 contributions4 helpful votes

Best place to stay if you like the deep woods,perfect

Awesome,awesome,clean and personable and they all address me by my first name the same day I got there. Love the food,the bed ,bedding and pillows are so so comfy,and they have three dogs that are so passive. Great family business. Will be back,you can count on that.thank you for everything.

Date of stay: July 2018

Trip type: Travelled solo

Room Tip: Radisson cabin


Julie Brooks reviewed Mattawa River Resort and Cardinal Lodge5 star

July 25, 2018 ·

A beautiful resort with outstanding service

My family and I spent 5 days at the Mattawa River Resort and highly recommend this amazing gem to all. The grounds are beautiful, clean with spectacular views. We stayed in Cartier cottage which was extremely clean, spacious and comfortable. We loved dining in the restaurant, the food is prepared fresh for each meal and is absolutely delicious. The owners, Nicole and Adrian, are absolutely the friendliest and most accommodating. They will bend over backwards to ensure your stay exceeds your expectations.

We will definitely return to this amazing oasis in the north!


Melissa Mace  recommends Mattawa River Resort and Cardinal Lodge.

March 30 ·

I would absolutely recommend Mattawa River Resort and Cardinal Lodge. The resort is beautiful and the Cardinal Lodge food was delicious! The owners of this resort went above and beyond for our large group. They made every aspect of our stay enjoyable. Thank you Nicole, Adrian and Tammy!


Steve Furrow reviewed Mattawa River Resort and Cardinal Lodge5 star

July 18, 2018 ·

nt, The Cardinal, is something exceptional. Everything they make is homemade and absolutely delicious…awesome weekend breakfast buffets! My wife would recommend their “Cardinal” cocktail, just one of their signature cocktails. I enjoyed the New Ontario draft beers, brewed locally right in North Bay.

For sure we will be back again!


Tara Voycey-Selig  recommends Mattawa River Resort and Cardinal Lodge.

March 19 ·

I can’t say enough about my positive experience at Mattawa River Resort. The owners were so welcoming and accommodating from the moment we booked until our hug goodbye. The scenery is breathtaking and the atmosphere is peaceful. I would also highly recommend the restaurant there. I thoroughly enjoyed my time there and I look forward to experiencing this resort for all 4 seasons. Thank you!!


Lucas Robert Dugard reviewed Mattawa River Resort and Cardinal Lodge5 star

June 17, 2018 ·

The only thing better than the view is the service!!!

Definitely recommend making the drive out to mattawa river resort! We went for fathers day and the food, staff, and atmosphere were amazing! the owners were buzzing around ensuring everyone was well taken care of which was a nice addition to an already beautiful place . they showed a true sense of pride in the cardinal restauraunt down to every last detail.

i had the mattawa monster burger and needless to say, left there extremely satisfied.

Hidden gem!!!